Palm Sunday, Bibiani, Ghana

Time separates from itself here,
divides into colors, and mixes
with the passive brown
of the children’s skin,
so many shades of pain.

These tiny vessels of the world’s neglect,
eyes searching into places within you
that no one sees except maybe God.
This reflection of your selfish self
bounces back at you with no malice intended. It is hard to bear.

Barbara-Alex-Prixila-Sistah-Adjus-Enoch-Georgina-
crowd around me, refusing to let me keep my distance.
No language, just touch, not grabbing,
but gentle tugs at my sleeve,
“Look at me, look at me!
Be my witness that I exist,
that this is not the end of hope,
that I matter.”

I, the fumbling white woman with her camera,
surrounded by more grace than exists in one
entire Western city, hear myself whisper,
“Speak but the word, and my soul shall be healed.”

Rebecca of the yellow dress,
ribbons on her shoulders,
clutching a green laced purse,
shows me her raggedy diamond slippers.
This African angel born of want,
eyes yellowed by malaria,
heart filled with faith,
says no words,
but her smile reveals
pure light.

Quickly, quietly,
I am saved.

H. Cristina Cassidy © June 2011

About constantpoet

I am a constant poet. What else can I say?
This entry was posted in Poem. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Palm Sunday, Bibiani, Ghana

  1. slpmartin says:

    “tiny vessels of the world’s neglect..”what an exceptional expression of truth!

    • constantpoet says:

      What is so difficult is that many of the children we encountered in Ghana will die of malaria or typhoid, both treatable diseases. I’m going back in November. If you want to see more about the project I’m working on you can go to http://www.yonkofa.com. I’m the filmmaker producing a short fundraising video for the project.

  2. This is a truly powerful, moving piece of writing. It touches that part of us which instinctively recognises and knows that the interconnection of our lives matter.

    • constantpoet says:

      I am having some strange, new (or really not new, just long-awaited) conversion experience I can’t explain. I think I’ll just have to do it in poetry–the language of the Gods. 🙂 I hope all is well with you. Life does go clomping along, does it not? I’ve gotten myself involved in this Ghana project and well, I’m involved. Will keep you posted. We hope to have a documentary done about it by next summer.

Leave a comment